Horton Law Offices, LLC
3800 American Blvd. West
Suite 1500
Bloomington, MN 55431

Get Directions (PDF)

952-922-8220 Office
612 209-6607 Cell
612 435-9941 Fax


Mark Horton at Horton Law Offices LLC provides Criminal Defense, DUI & DWI defense, Civil Commitment defense legal services in Minneapolis and throughout Minnesota. 


Common Questions Regarding a DWI or DUI Charge in Minnesota

Will I have to go to jail if I'm convicted of DWI or DUI in Minnesota? 
It depends on the degree of your DWI charge.  The Minnesota Legislature has mandated jail time for defendants with multiple DWI convictions or License Revocations.

How long will I lose my Driver’s License if I’m convicted of a DWI or DUI in Minnesota?
First time Minnesota DWI or DUI offenders could lose their driver's license for up to 1 year, but factors to consider are your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC), age, number of priors and if you were charged with a test refusal.  You can lose your driver’s license in Minnesota based on a criminal conviction for a DWI, DUI or for a driver’s license revocation.

I think the Police Officer did not have probable cause to stop my vehicle before I was charged with a DWI or DUI in Minnesota?
A police officer needs only Reasonable Articulable Suspicion (RAS) in Minnesota to stop your vehicle prior to charging you with a DWI or DUI, which is less than probable cause.

What is the difference between DWI and DUI in Minnesota?

  • A Minnesota DWI charge alleges that you were driving a motor vehicle while having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over .08.
  • A Minnesota DUI charge alleges that you were driving a motor vehicle while under the Influence. 
  • 95% of people are charged with both DWI and DUI in Minnesota. 

The theory for both a DWI and DUI charge in Minnesota is that some people can be over Minnesota’s BAC limit of .08, but not be driving under the influence. In other words, they have alcohol in their system, but are driving just fine.  Conversely, someone could be driving a motor vehicle with a BAC below the legal limit of .08, but be under the influence of alcohol while driving. 

Has my driver’s license already been revoked?
You will be issued a seven day temporary driver’s license the day your driver's license is revoked by a police officer in Minnesota.  You have 30 days to challenge the driver’s license revocation for a DWI or DUI.

Can I check the status of my driver’s license?
Yes, go to the driver's license status page and enter your driver’s license number.

How much does your office charge?
See the price menu.

back to criminal defense